F H K L O P V Z
HA

Halal

This means "something that is lawful and permitted in Islam" . For a food to be Halal(lawful) for Muslim consumption all its ingredients should be Halal. The following products are definitely Halal: 1. Milk (from cows, sheep, camels, and goats) 2. Honey 3. Fish 4. Plants which are not intoxicant 5. Fresh or naturally frozen vegetables 6. Fresh or dried fruits 7. Legumes and nuts like peanuts, cashew nuts, hazel nuts, walnuts, etc. 8. Grains such as wheat, rice, rye, barley, oat, etc. "Animals such as cows, sheep, goats, deer, moose, chickens, ducks, game birds, etc., are also Halal, but they must be Zabihah (slaughtered according to Islamic Rites) in order to be suitable for consumption. The procedure is as follows: the animal must be slaughtered by a Muslim (or a Jew or Christian - click here for more). The animal should be put down on the ground (or held it if it is small) and its throat should be slit with a very sharp knife to make sure that the 3 main blood vessels are cut. While cutting the throat of the animal (without severing it), the person must pronounce the name of Allah or recite a blessing which contains the name of Allah, such as "Bismillah Allah-u-Akbar".
Source: http://www.eat-halal.com
Last modified: 12 April 2009
© 2008 Nik D FeedbackLogin | XHTML | CSS Powered by Glossword 1.8.11